Question about USB audio OUT

Sorry for the noob question. I have zero experience with USB audio.

My behringer ada8200 died a couple of weeks ago. I was using it as an ADAT converter to record the S2400 separate outs. I was waiting until the new firmware update to decide if I buy another one or not.

My soundcard is a RME fireface UC. Is it possible to use the S2400 audio out in conjunction with the Fireface which is a USB interface as well? For those who know RME products the goal is to use totalmix, the software that work like a mixer to schematize, and to record everything in Reaper (DAW).

Does it seem possible? If no, I’ll just buy another ada8200.

I suppose there will be an explanation or a tutorial about USB audio soon but if someone already know it would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

The answer is yes, but how you do it depends on your OS. If you use MacOS you can create an aggregate device that is the union of inputs and outputs of both devices. On windows, I think you have to use an external tool like ASIO4All. I think it works similarly to mac, but its been a while since I messed with audio like that in windows. After you accomplish your device aggregation, you select said device in the DAW/AudioEditor/software of choice. Keep in mind you get the common denominator of bit depth/sample rate between the 2 devices. (meaning 16 or 24bit /48khz) so you cant run yer RME at 192khz and aggregate it with the 2400.

2 Likes

I use almost this exact same set up I have the RME UFX combined with the Focusrite Clarett OctoPre 8 and the ISLA running USB audio.

In the mac you just set up up as an aggregate and put them in the order you prefer with the primary clock coming from the RME in my case.

If it is a windows device you do have to do a work around as SAP said.

1 Like

Thank you very much for the answer guys. I use Windows. I ll check asio4all when I have more time this weekend :slight_smile:

1 Like