Sampling from computer/youtube

just got mine yesterday! im a complete noob so bear with me. I have a usb connected to my pc from the 2400. what else do i need to do to record a sample from youtube for example? I’ve gone inot the input monitor and the usb audio input is on, i have monitor on the headphones, when i press play on YT, I hear the song, and in sampling mode, no signal is detected. do i need to connect audio in’s and outs as well? I thought Brad said u just need a usb cable? Anyone willing to help a noob, and brother out? thank you.
i can hear song when i press play, but cant hear it when i go into sample mode on the 2400?

In the Sample screen, you have to select USB as the source. The Input Monitor and sample in are separate items.

2 Likes

thank you so much! oh, i also am experimenting with some of the samples you shared!! Cheers!!

1 Like

sorry to bother you, but now when i play the song i want to sample, the sampler doesnt record. I press rec/edit, the timer comes on as 0:00:00 but doenst actually record? I know im prob missing something simple but if you dont mind ? I wont bother you again, at least fro today! lol
it did work once but halfway thru the sample, so i erased that and tried again it doesnt record? wtf? it does record if i change it back to like 24kh but at usb is doenst work. i know my unit doenst have the aug firmware update? is that the reason?

well after switching back and forth a few times, between usb and 12 bit settings, the usb sampler its working now. strange start to sampling. lets hope this isnt a recurring issue, cuz its a friggin sampler for crying out loud!! so sample already lloll

I would check your threshold settings, make sure that the signal out of youtube is as hot as possible. Ive noticed that some sites(Whosampled.com) seem to embed a player that has a low volume on purpose so it may not trip the threshold.