Anyone else having trouble playing chords in midi-sequencer?

Perhaps not many people will even notice/report this, since I’m guessing the s2400 will primarily be used as a loop/slice sampler for most.

I noticed playing chords using the midi-sequencer using any amount of quantize is perhaps buggy and never records the way I want. I’m no pro pianist; but, I have no problem playing chords on say a 1/16th or 1/32nd quantize on mpc60.

With the s2400, after countless attempts, I never can record good sounding chords on any quantize other than full Fine quantize. So, I just leave it on Fine and that works. I really doubt it’s my horrible playing ability (could be tho, lol).

It’s not only that it doesn’t fall on say the 1/16th quantized targeted step, or a step before/after if I miss that step… but it also sounds very off, like some notes in the chord are choked off or missing.

Additionally, the velocity and also lengths doesn’t sound like what I’ve played at all… sometimes sounds like full-velocity-128 (when I played it medium, say maybe 80-100) and also the note lengths are off and not what I played (sounds noticeably shorter than what I played).

But, when I put it in Fine quantize mode… it works perfectly fine… velocity, as well as length.
I’ve tested 1/16, 1/32, 1/64… all same problem.

These are simple 3 and 4 note chords too btw… maybe only 1-2 chords per 4 or 8 bar (no complex playing at all).

1 Like

i have not got to midi yet, will get to it today at some point and come back to you on it

1 Like

do you have ability to make basic video?

send midi from a daw or sequencer rather than a human played keyboard, that way we can see from the screen the note lengths and velocity being sent- they should then match what the 2400 shows in his screen.

Sending midi from a daw or other sequencer defeats the purpose/topic, as you’re not using the S2400’s midi-sequencer at all.