ER: Show output pairs when assigned sample is stereo

I’m new to the product, but one QoL thing I noticed that took me a while is that when you assign the output to a track, you specify a singular output and just have to assume that if the underlying sample is stereo it will use the subsequent output for the other channel. I’m wondering of the feasibility of displaying something like (1 +2, 3+4, 5+6, 7+8). It’s also not clear to me if the even outputs are valid candidates for a stereo assignment (ie is 2+3 valid?). Again, I’m not suggesting any functionality change, but maybe just make the display more explicit to the user what pair they’re using. I found myself stumped for a bit wondering if I was missing some setting to enable stereo out when it just works (great), but wasn’t clear (less great).

Thanks in advance

4 Likes

There is a setting for that called “Output Mix”.

This is one of those things that once you understand it, I think it is fine, but I agree with @the8bitdeity that it could be cleared up.

I’m not sure you understood what he was asking @Mickey.

If you were to load 8 stereo samples on pads 1 to 8. Each one displays the output channel 1 to 8 according to the track number. Track 1 shows 1 but actually outputs through channels 1+2 and track 2 shows 2 but outputs through 1+2. the8bitdeity is saying that it would be nice to see both channels instead of only 1 of the pair. It is not possible to my knowledge to output from a mismatched pair like 2+3 or 4+5.

So the feature request in this thread is:

If Output Mix is stereo, instead of displaying something like

Output               5

Make it:

Output             5+6
5 Likes

And, it could be nice to be able to send mono samples centered, when you used stereo Outs. So you could mix stereo and mono samples on the same outputs pairs.